Skip to main content

Oak Harbor High School Students Receive National Academic Honors

Posted Date: 9/15/23 (3:51 PM)

Oak Harbor High School (OHHS) students are being recognized for earning national academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Program and the National Merit Scholarship program. The College Board National Recognition Program focuses on black, indigenous, and/or Latino students and students from rural areas and celebrates students’ who earned a 3.5 GPA or higher and achieved a PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 assessment scores that are within the top 10% of assessment takers in each state for each award program or earned a score of 3 or higher on 2 or more AP Exams in 9th and 10th grade.

Additionally, OHHS student Declan Johnstone was recently named a Semifinalist for the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program, which is an honor given to less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed or recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying exam. The National Merit Scholarship Winners will start being announced in April. 

The following students were awarded honors:

National Merit Semifinalist

  • Declan Johnstone

National African American Recognition Award (NAARA)

  • Kahlil Jones

National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA)

  • Jameson O’Hara

National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA)

  • Antonio Rodgers

  • Branson Turner

  • Declan Johnstone

  • Emily Javelo

  • Ethan Bazar

  • John Culligan

  • Kennedy Carlson

  • Madison Dodson

  • Matthew Ackerman

  • Riona Sheils

“We are proud of the hard work and dedication of our Oak Harbor High School students,” said Principal Nate Salisbury, “We’re thrilled to celebrate their achievement and we can’t wait to see where their success takes them in their future college or career!”

Pictured: Declan Johnstone, National Merit Semifinalist and National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA) recipient.

Pictured: Emily Javelo, Kahlil Jones, Matthew Ackerman, Kennedy Carlson